RSS Feed

Life change – copied from Multiply

  Jul 20, ’06 6:37 AM
for everyone
Hi everyone,

Some of you will see this several times since I cut and paste this long beast several places but . . .

I have finally had it with the stress at Osco/CVS and let Scott convince me to re apply at my old store Walgreens since there is a new manager there now.

Well I lucked out big time!  My old store still hasn’t called me yet!  Yeah!  I wasn’t thrilled with going back to Walgreens! 

But Scott ran into an old frozen food manager friend of his from way back, last week.  Her name is JoAnne.  Scott told her that I was very unhappy and stressed with working at CVS.  She asked if I was looking to change jobs since where she is currently working they need people.  The company she is with, Crossmark, just got a bunch of new clients and they need to hire more people.  Scott told her yes and got her number.  Starting pay is $10.00 an hour, $1.25 more than I make now!  There are NO WEEKENDS and NO HOLIDAYS!!  It can be anywhere from 15 hours a week during their slow times to about 40 a week.  I pick when and where I want to work.  I will have 3 or 4 stores that are ‘mine’ that I need to work in 3 hours a month every month but other than that – I choose!!  No more having to deal with customers.  I will be doing the resets and new merchandise cut ins at grocery stores, Walmarts, Kmarts, Targets, etc.

I called JoAnn on Saturday.  She called me on Monday while I was at work and said that she would be re calling me on Tuesday which is my day off.  We talked and she explained all of the above stuff.  Then she had the hiring person call me from Texas later that day.  He is overnighting me the paperwork and it should be here today!  I need to fill it out and get it back in the mail to him tomorrow. 

I officially put in my two week notice yesterday!  Linda K. the #3 boss is thrilled for me.  When she heard what I was making at Osco/CVS her jaw dropped and she said “run away from here and run fast”!  Even she thinks I am running around in circles for 40 hours a week for way to little!  Today the store manager is in and will find out he is going to be short yet another Supervisor.  I am not looking forward to going into work today at all!  He is still in a hiring freeze until the full systems conversion is over which is on August 11th. 

I talked to my partner, the other Linda, and she said to do what I had to do and not worry about them.  They are going to be so screwed with me leaving.  Every single one of them is going to have to close the store or open the store alone until the manager hires more people.  I feel so bad but at the same time I am so excited to have less hours, and yet more money!  And very little stress from what I can see.  My new company was actually in CVS yesterday doing two resets so I got to talk to them.

More great news, tomorrow is finally Bon Jovi concert day too!!  I have waited a long time to be able to see them and I am just about jumping up in down with excitement!!!  

I was so exhausted after turning in my notice yesterday that I went to bed at 6 p.m. and slept until the thunder storm woke me up at 5:30 a.m.  I want to empty the dishwasher and then do my exercises before the Fed Ex guy gets here with my paperwork! 

 
 
 
4 Comments

claireej
claireej wrote on Jul 20, ’06
Wow Chele, so many hours sleep. Talk about the stress getting to you and being released.
have a fab time at the concert, jealous muchly, and hope the paperwork arrived.! C xx

gothtigger
gothtigger wrote on Jul 20, ’06
Michele, Congrats on the job change! You wont know yourself once the stress levels reduce! Have fun at the concert!

tegan2
tegan2 wrote on Jul 24, ’06
Congrats on the job, sweetie, and even better, I hope the concert was everything you wanted it to be! I’m still trying to decide if I can afford to go see Little Feat this week…

xsfav14
xsfav14 wrote on Jul 29, ’06
Hi Donna,

The concert was AWESOME!!!! But the 4 1/2 hours stuck in traffic to get there was not! We totally missed the warm up group Nickelback. We got to the parking garage just as they ended. Someone walking with us had friends inside that were keeping them updated. It took about 20+ minutes to get into the stadium from the garage. Right inside the door I bought a program! Then I made Scott stop at a t-shirt vendor since they looked like they were almost all sold out already. I got Scott and I matching shirts and then a different one for me. At this point, Bon Jovi started playing his first song!! It took us 2 more songs before a nice security person showed us the correct door to use to get to our seats! So technically we didn’t miss any of the main concert, we just didn’t SEE the first 3 songs!

Our seats were in the front row of the 3rd section up so there was nothing but a wall in front of us! We didn’t have to stand to see anything! There was this huge screen that showed everything like you were in the front row. I was so geeked the whole time. I was clapping or swaying or tapping the entire concert!

After the concert we actually sat in the parking garage for almost an hour just so we wouldn’t hit a huge traffic jam again on the way back! It only took the normal 2 hours to get home from Chicago. Thank Heavens! I now have a Bon Jovi screen saver on my computer!! VBG!

Am way behind in e-mails again because I am trying to catch up on reading. My piles are getting ahead of my done piles!

On the work front, I got called Wed. while I was at work telling me I was an official employee of Crossmark. I called JoAnn back at 6:30 a.m. the next morning since she is in the office by 6 a.m. She gave me my User name and password for the employee website. Everything we do is done on line from home. We get our assignments, log our time sheet stuff, our mileage, etc. all from home!!! Too cool. I go up to Waukesha on Aug 3rd at 10 a.m. to get trained on how to use the website etc. Since driving that far isn’t my best skill (guess I will have to improve on that immediately), I am having Scott go with me on our day off this coming Tuesday the 1st as I make a dry run up to Crossmark. That way I will be able to do it by myself on Thurs.

Luv and Hugs,
Michele

About xsfav14 - Chele

Married to Scott for 20 years. Have 3 kids between us - Jami, Kenny and Caitlin. Have 5 Grand children - will be 6 in about 4 months - Jade Elizabeth and Jacob Matthew both 13, Skyler Ryan - 5, Landon Joseph who will be 4 in September, and Kyla who is 10 months. We also have a dog named Madison. I mainly cross stitch as my hobby but I also read Paranormal Romance books!

Leave a Reply

Katie's Bright Kitchen

Recipes & Resources for Bright Line Eaters

Charlie, our Angel

Seeking a Medical Diagnosis

Embroiderbee's Primary Hive

Needlework & Other Obsessions

Claire93's Blog

my little corner in blogland

Joan Elliott

Design and Illustration

Cross Stitch Review

We try before you buy

Black Cat Stitches

My obsession with stitching

Nancy369's Blog

Just me and my stitchin'.......

Kincavel Krosses

Cross Stitch and Blackwork designs by Lady Kell of Kincavel

SweetEats Traditions

Traditional & Unique SweetEats!

Your Lighter Side

Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Gluten-Free, Sugar-Free, Low-Carb, Atkins, Diabetic, Ketogenic Healthy Eating

Gothtigger

Don't let The Best become the enemy of the Good.

A Project-A-Day

by Gothtigger

Great Stash Recession

Just another WordPress.com site

suzmademedoit

Just another WordPress.com site

Silentsgirls Swappables and Wishes

Things I Have and Things I Want

Sometimes Stitching

Not much these days, but sometimes I stitch

What A Stitch!!!

The thing that keeps me sane... cross stitch.

leoorbitenglish

In the end less mined

xstitcher43's Blog

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

The Wonder That is Me

Just another Blip in the Blogosphere

