RSS Feed

Health Care opinions needed – copied from Multiply

  Aug 1, ’07 4:10 PM
for everyone
Hi everyone,

Especially those that live in other countries  OTHER than the United States.  My DH is putting in a request for opinions on how you all feel about your  health care that  is provided by the government.  All he wants is simple  –  I love it because . . . .   or  I hate it because . . .   or  It is o.k. but sometimes it sucks because . . . . etc.   

Our neighbor says it is the only way to go for the United States to solve all our insurance, health cost, lawyers/suing problems.  My husband disagrees with him saying the Government shouldn’t be running it.  Now he would like some actual feedback from people living with it right now to get more of an accurate idea.

Chele

clearstar
clearstar wrote on Aug 2, ’07
Interesting. For some things, government run healthcare is wonderful. For others, it makes sense to go for private paid care, especially when there are huge long waiting lists.

toobusytostitch
toobusytostitch wrote on Aug 3, ’07
Well here in the UK we get pretty good national health service – not perfect, but better than lots of other places. But we are seeing increasing numbers of people sueing health professionals, both in and out of the Health Service. I think we’re lucky on the whole, because I’ve heard of people with long-term health problems in the US running out of money to deal with their problems – at least that doesn’t happen over here. Or does it?

clearstar
clearstar wrote on Aug 3, ’07

I’ve heard of people with long-term health problems in the US running out of money to deal with their problems – at least that doesn’t happen over here. Or does it?

Sure does. When you think your private healthcare covers you for a certain procedure [2nd May] and then they decide, nope, not gonna pay, then the bills start to add up.

xsfav14
xsfav14 wrote on Aug 3, ’07
Well that isn’t fair at all! If they weren’t going to cover the costs, shouldn’t they have told you BEFORE the procedure? Geesh, it is bad enough that it sucks because a person is sick but then they have to deal with health insurance issues or whatever on top of it. The whole point of insurance is to help people get and/or stay healthy – not make matters worse by causing all the extra stress!

Chele

clearstar
clearstar wrote on Aug 4, ’07
xsfav14 said

If they weren’t going to cover the costs, shouldn’t they have told you BEFORE the procedure?

We kind of knew but were relying on a doctor’s letter making it clear that it had nothing to do with any exclusions I have.

What is clear now is that the consultant has deviated from treating me for one thing and is treating me for something I am excluded from on the policy. It’s an annoying £2000/$4000 nuisance.

xsfav14
xsfav14 wrote on Aug 4, ’07
Well then the consultant should have to pay that annoying nuisance!! If he did the change, he/she should pay! I get like a dog with a bone when things like this happen!

Chele

clearstar
clearstar wrote on Aug 5, ’07
xsfav14 said

If he did the change, he/she should pay! I get like a dog with a bone when things like this happen!

We’re in discussions. I don’t think he will pay. Can’t see it happening somehow.

xsfav14
xsfav14 wrote on Aug 5, ’07
No, the individual rarely wins the battle when it comes to insurance, government or anything like that! Makes you just want to spit!

Chele

cgsmom
cgsmom wrote on Sep 23, ’07, edited on Sep 23, ’07
I’m a little late to the question…. I’m Susan S on the IWSAL group… Just my two cents… which isn’t worth that much it seems these days LOL

We have government health care, via the military. It’s no more than socialized medicine. Mediocre doctors so many times – grad med school, got the title and couldn’t do it on their own, so hey! Military. There are times I’ve called for an appointment and can’t get in for over a month – booked up, books only open for appts 30 days out in the computer. No same day appointments. (first time since I’ve been here, i did get a same day, but had to drive the 10+miles to town to see a doctor down there – a soon to be RETIRED reservist who was active duty once)

Socializing our medicine in the US won’t make things any better than they are now. I’ve talked to people in England and Germany both who didn’t have good things to say about their system. (guy in England used his own insurance if I remember correctly otherwise, he’d likely have died waiting for the gov’t – so odds are good we’d still have to provide our own insurance in the long run – PLUS, have you heard Hillary wants in her world to have you apply for a job ONLY IF you have insurance – prove you’re insured to an employer… oh yeah… I want to have the gov’t have that much control over me – I’ve had it with the military for over 15 years… no thanks LOL)

Remember… the gov’t tries to fix MANY things, just throwing more and more and more money down the drain (ie EDUCATION!), and look what it’s done. NOTHING. Absolutely freaking nothing. Throwing $$$$$$$$$$ at “fixing” the medical problems in the US won’t help at all. It certainly hasn’t helped our education get better. Nor the social security problem. (That’s what I want private 🙂 – Let me screw up my savings, actually see the $$$$ we’ve paid for years into the system only to know we won’t see it ever at this point)

Sorry for my ramblings. 😀

About xsfav14 - Chele

Married to Scott for 20 years. Have 3 kids between us - Jami, Kenny and Caitlin. Have 5 Grand children - will be 6 in about 4 months - Jade Elizabeth and Jacob Matthew both 13, Skyler Ryan - 5, Landon Joseph who will be 4 in September, and Kyla who is 10 months. We also have a dog named Madison. I mainly cross stitch as my hobby but I also read Paranormal Romance books!

Leave a Reply

Katie's Bright Kitchen

Recipes & Resources for Bright Line Eaters

Charlie, our Angel

Seeking a Medical Diagnosis

Embroiderbee's Primary Hive

Needlework & Other Obsessions

Claire93's Blog

my little corner in blogland

Joan Elliott

Design and Illustration

Cross Stitch Review

We try before you buy

Black Cat Stitches

My obsession with stitching

Nancy369's Blog

Just me and my stitchin'.......

Kincavel Krosses

Cross Stitch and Blackwork designs by Lady Kell of Kincavel

SweetEats Traditions

Traditional & Unique SweetEats!

Your Lighter Side

Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Gluten-Free, Sugar-Free, Low-Carb, Atkins, Diabetic, Ketogenic Healthy Eating

Gothtigger

Don't let The Best become the enemy of the Good.

A Project-A-Day

by Gothtigger

Great Stash Recession

Just another WordPress.com site

suzmademedoit

Just another WordPress.com site

Silentsgirls Swappables and Wishes

Things I Have and Things I Want

Sometimes Stitching

Not much these days, but sometimes I stitch

What A Stitch!!!

The thing that keeps me sane... cross stitch.

leoorbitenglish

In the end less mined

xstitcher43's Blog

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

The Wonder That is Me

Just another Blip in the Blogosphere

