RSS Feed

Everyone I need an opinion – copied from Multiply

  Apr 11, ’07 6:07 AM
for everyone
I need an opinion, I am seriously considering going down to just Tues., Thurs., and Fridays at work. I am doing great with the Wed. off thing. I already can tell I made the right decision work wise. I am not as stressed now with the extra day and am actually enjoying the job again with the fewer hours/day.

BUT Caitlin is having a big, real wedding next June (I hope – if they don’t break up before then – we all know Caitlin’s track record), I am now up to a size 18 from the size 12 I was at while working at CVS/Osco. I got down to that size 12 in just 3 or 4 months by working out 2-3 hours a day, 5 or 6 days a week. Plus I was drinking 8 glasses of water EVERY day and was able to eat healthy meals. I can NOT go to that wedding in a tent type dress which would be the only thing that would hide everything and fit. I feel hugely fat and ugly now just wearing a sweatshirt and jeans. Dressing up has me in tears everytime I have to do it because I look so bad. Heck I am almost pushing size 20 now!

At CVS/Osco I was working mainly nights so I could pull off all the exercise time and drink the required water. With this job, I would need to get up at 3:30 or 4 a.m. on the days I am schedule for 8 a.m. and even earlier than that on days I am scheduled at 7 a.m. or earlier. And that is not counting the days they send me more than 30 to 40 minutes away. I can’t do that. AND I have tried to do the exercise thing after work and it NEVER happens. Either I am so exhausted that all I can do is crash or I have stuff that needs to be done.

So I am thinking in order to accomplish this 50 to 70 (yes I know 70 is impossible in the available time frame) pound weight loss before next June, I need to give myself at least 5 days of non-work which means adding Mondays to my days off. That would give me Monday, Wednesday, Fridays, Saturdays and Sundays for exercise and water intake. I do work on Fridays but it is my Brach’s accounts and I can start those as late as 10 a.m. and get them all done in time which would give me ample morning exercise time. That would give me 3 days of cardio and 2 days of strength training.

I am just so tired. I sleep 7 to 8 hours and wake up tired. I am constantly fighting being depressed (although that has improved quite a bit with the Wed. off thing) and I feel just ick all the time. I really do need to just lose the weight – even some of it.

So what do you guys think? I would still be making from $180 – $230 a week depending on where they send me on the Tues. and Thurs. Is a wedding a good enough reason to do this?

Chele

 
 
 
6 Comments
heypaula
 
heypaula wrote on Apr 11, ’07
Hmmm – this might be the bigger question – is it just for the wedding or would it help your health and mental/emotional well-being over all? I know that when I’m doing what I really should be with drinking enough water and exercising, I feel better all around, and I find I have tons more energy.

xsfav14
xsfav14 wrote on Apr 11, ’07
Hi Paula,

I did feel a LOT better when I was working out. I was able to get up at 4 or 5 a.m. on the days I worked days to do my exercising and I didn’t feel tired. Now I just feel tired. Doesn’t matter how much I sleep or don’t sleep, doesn’t matter if I eat junk or eat healthy, I am just tired. I also have to weigh the wrath of Scott too since he doesn’t feel I need to lose any weight just for the wedding. Especially if it means losing a day of work to do it.

Sent this to all the groups (so some will see this twice or more) and some long lost friends that don’t read the groups much anymore. I am terrible at making decisions of this type by myself and the one person who I would usually ask is going to say NO WAY without a seconds hesitation.

clearstar
clearstar wrote on Apr 11, ’07
So with the Brach’s accounts, you’ll still be working a four day week in reality but with hours better suited to you.
The huge long distances you’ve been driving have been stressing you which won’t help any weight loss at all.
I’d be inclined to try and swap the days about and if you really don’t need the money, then don’t worry quite so much about what Scot says…
Big hugs.

xsfav14
xsfav14 wrote on Apr 11, ’07
Hi Hon,
I would work on Tuesdays, Thursdays and Fridays which is the day I do my Brach’s accounts so exercise is possible on that day of work. Everyone seems to agree with my idea that getting healthy is a better option than working on Mondays. This would give me Sunday, Wednesday, and Fridays for Cardio and Saturdays and Mondays for strength training. My weight range for height and age is 104 -115. On Sparkpeople, I figured out if I lose at least 2 pounds a week (huge dream) I know, I can be down to 120 by 12/10/07. So that gives me an extra 6 months after that day to lose any weight that I still haven’t managed to lose. Nobody loses 2 pounds a week or even loses weight every single week so I will have an extra window of time. And, I don’t think after the wedding I will pick up the day again. Most weeks right now, Scott doesn’t need my check at all. Working the 3 days, I will average 19 – 25 hours a week depending on how long my days are on Tues./Thurs. That is still $190 – $250 a week. Thanks for the help!
Chele

clearstar
clearstar wrote on Apr 12, ’07
xsfav14 said

Most weeks right now, Scott doesn’t need my check at all.

Go for it……You’ll still have stash money and think how much happier you will be with the weight off….just do it.

mdgtjulie
mdgtjulie wrote on Apr 12, ’07
I would go for it too. If you can be both happier and healthier in the long run, it outweighs any other considerations.
About xsfav14 - Chele

Married to Scott for 20 years. Have 3 kids between us - Jami, Kenny and Caitlin. Have 5 Grand children - will be 6 in about 4 months - Jade Elizabeth and Jacob Matthew both 13, Skyler Ryan - 5, Landon Joseph who will be 4 in September, and Kyla who is 10 months. We also have a dog named Madison. I mainly cross stitch as my hobby but I also read Paranormal Romance books!

Leave a Reply

Katie's Bright Kitchen

Recipes & Resources for Bright Line Eaters

Charlie, our Angel

Seeking a Medical Diagnosis

Embroiderbee's Primary Hive

Needlework & Other Obsessions

Claire93's Blog

my little corner in blogland

Joan Elliott

Design and Illustration

Cross Stitch Review

We try before you buy

Black Cat Stitches

My obsession with stitching

Nancy369's Blog

Just me and my stitchin'.......

Kincavel Krosses

Cross Stitch and Blackwork designs by Lady Kell of Kincavel

SweetEats Traditions

Traditional & Unique SweetEats!

Your Lighter Side

Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Gluten-Free, Sugar-Free, Low-Carb, Atkins, Diabetic, Ketogenic Healthy Eating

Gothtigger

Don't let The Best become the enemy of the Good.

A Project-A-Day

by Gothtigger

Great Stash Recession

Just another WordPress.com site

suzmademedoit

Just another WordPress.com site

Silentsgirls Swappables and Wishes

Things I Have and Things I Want

Sometimes Stitching

Not much these days, but sometimes I stitch

What A Stitch!!!

The thing that keeps me sane... cross stitch.

leoorbitenglish

In the end less mined

xstitcher43's Blog

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

The Wonder That is Me

Just another Blip in the Blogosphere

