RSS Feed

A good day again! – copied from Multiply

A good day again! Jul 2, ’06 10:29 AM
for everyone
Good Morning,

It is a good day today at least until 2:30 when I have to punch in at work! VBG!

Today was weigh in day again, I lost an amazing 4.2 pounds! That is all my vacation weight and then some! That makes 10.4 pounds lost so far which is averaging out to be about a pound a week! I wish it was closer to 2 pounds a week but down is down!! Yea Me!!

One of my boards over on Spark People is having a challenge to burn 1500 – 2000 calories by Tuesday night. I did 733.5 yesterday and 300 today (since it is suppose to be my off day) for a total of 1033.5. I still have 2 days left so I think I will make it!!

I actually have a party to go too on the 4th. My friend Patty is throwing one. I am making a red, white and blue cake with strawberries and blueberries to look like a flag.

1 qt. strawberries (about 4 cups), divided
1-1/2 cups boiling water
1 pkg. (8-serving size) or 2 pkg. (4-serving size each) JELL-O Brand Gelatin, any red flavor
Ice cubes
1 cup cold water
1 pkg. (12 oz.) pound cake, cut into 10 slices
1-1/3 cups blueberries, divided
1 tub (8 oz.) COOL WHIP Whipped Topping, thawed
 

SLICE 1 cup of the strawberries; set aside. Halve remaining strawberries; set aside.
STIR boiling water into dry gelatin mix in large bowl 2 minutes until completely dissolved. Add enough ice to cold water to measure 2 cups. Add to gelatin; stir until ice is melted. Refrigerate 5 minutes or until slightly thickened (consistency of unbeaten egg whites). Meanwhile, line bottom of 13×9-inch dish with cake slices. Add sliced strawberries and 1 cup of the blueberries to thickened gelatin; stir gently. Spoon over cake slices.
REFRIGERATE 4 hours or until firm. Spread whipped topping over gelatin. Arrange strawberry halves on whipped topping for “stripes” of “flag.” Arrange remaining 1/3 cup blueberries on whipped topping for “stars.” Store leftover cake in refrigerator

Everyone have a great day.

Michele A.

 
8 Comments

ecostitcher
ecostitcher wrote on Jul 3, ’06
Congratulations on losing weight! Its not an easy thing to do.

heypaula
heypaula wrote on Jul 5, ’06
Congrats on the big loss! You’re right back on track!

xsfav14
xsfav14 wrote on Jul 14, ’06
Thanks everyone! I am still (always) behind on e-mails! I really need to vent but am just going to crawl back into bed and cry some more instead.

Michele

claireej
claireej wrote on Jul 14, ’06
Chele……{{{{{{{{{{huge big hugs}}}}}}}}}}

xsfav14
xsfav14 wrote on Jul 14, ’06
Thanks Claire! You will never in a million years believe what I just did a few hours ago!! I reapplied at my old Walgreens store. They are hiring and it is under all new management. The manager I had problems with stepped down, after her baby, and moved to a different store. This new manager seemed to like me and had me fill everything out. Scott seems to think I am a shoe in but I am not so sure about that.

I actually got written up again yesterday. Someone else made a mistake and didn’t tell anyone. She put a $500 drop into the bottom of the safe BEFORE Armor came for the day. When that happens, your suppose to leave a note on the safe or tell the person (me) who does the Armor pickup about it. She didn’t say a word. I counted 71 drops in the bottom of the safe that I sealed and gave the Armor guy. Supposedly there were 72 and I miscounted – which I might have – never have before but I am not perfect. But if there was a note or anything said, the mistake wouldn’t of happened and I wouldn’t have gotten my SECOND write up because of someone elses mistake that I didn’t manage to catch. I came home last night to vent to Scott and for the second night in a row he was out! I am only home 3 nights a week and he manages to be out on TWO of them this week. So I went to bed at 8 p.m. and cried myself to sleep.

So today, Scott talked me into going down to meet the new manager at my old Walgreens. The manager had me apply and will look at my application. I really don’t want to leave my partner at CVS in a lurch by quitting but I am getting tired of being so dern busy that you are always doing 3 or 4 things at once and then they write you up when mistakes happen. The conversion to CVS is going terribly and we are about 5 people and 1 Supervisor short. We are in a hiring freeze until Aug. 11th when we go live on the new CVS register systems. But Kevin usually turns away people that only want part-time, he won’t work around anyone’s first job schedule, and if you can’t do weekends he says don’t bother appling. We have had some really good people apply that he won’t even consider because of there job availabilities. So I don’t think it will get any better when the freeze is lifted if Kevin is still the person doing the hiring.

I called in sick today. It should of been my Friday off anyway but they took that away from me a month ago. One of the managers is closing all by herself because I am not there.

Well better go!
Luv and Hugs,
Michele

heypaula
heypaula wrote on Jul 14, ’06
Here’s to hoping that things work in your favor with the new manager at your old store! Retail is just a beast no matter how you slice it, and I was never sure if the things I hated were just our store manager or if it was CVS. Our problem was usually getting everyone enough hours rather than not having enough staff, which isn’t bad in one way, but it’s tough in others. I think I’d have called out today, too. Hang in there, and let us know what happens!

xsfav14
xsfav14 wrote on Jul 20, ’06
Hi Paula,

Well I lucked out big time! My old store still hasn’t called me yet! Yeah! I wasn’t thrilled with going back to Walgreens!

But Scott ran into an old frozen food manager friend of his from way back, last week. Her name is JoAnne. Scott told her that I was very unhappy and stressed with working at CVS. She asked if I was looking to change jobs since where she is currently working they need people. The company she is with, Crossmark, just got a bunch of new clients and they need to hire more people. Scott told her yes and got her number. Starting pay is $10.00 an hour, $1.25 more than I make now! There are NO WEEKENDS and NO HOLIDAYS!! It can be anywhere from 15 hours a week during their slow times to about 40 a week. I pick when and where I want to work. I will have 3 or 4 stores that are ‘mine’ that I need to work in 3 hours a month every month but other than that – I choose!! No more having to deal with customers. I will be doing the resets and new merchandise cut ins at grocery stores, Walmarts, Kmarts, Targets, etc.

I called JoAnn on Saturday. She called me on Monday while I was at work and said that she would be re calling me on Tuesday which is my day off. We talked and she explained all of the above stuff. Then she had the hiring person call me from Texas later that day. He is overnighting me the paperwork and it should be here today! I need to fill it out and get it back in the mail to him tomorrow.

I officially put in my two week notice yesterday! Linda K. the #3 boss is thrilled for me. When she heard what I was making at Osco/CVS her jaw dropped and she said “run away from here and run fast”! Even she thinks I am running around in circles for 40 hours a week for way to little! Today the store manager is in and will find out he is going to be short yet another Supervisor. I am not looking forward to going into work today at all! He is still in a hiring freeze until the full systems conversion is over which is on August 11th.

I talked to my partner, the other Linda, and she said to do what I had to do and not worry about them. They are going to be so screwed with me leaving. Every single one of them is going to have to close the store or open the store alone until the manager hires more people. I feel so bad but at the same time I am so excited to have less hours, and yet more money! And very little stress from what I can see. My new company was actually in CVS yesterday doing two resets so I got to talk to them.

More great news, tomorrow is finally Bon Jovi concert day too!! I have waited a long time to be able to see them and I am just about jumping up in down with excitement!!!

I was so exhausted after turning in my notice yesterday that I went to bed at 6 p.m. and slept until the thunder storm woke me up at 5:30 a.m. I want to empty the dishwasher and then do my exercises before the Fed Ex guy gets here with my paperwork!

Luv and Hugs,
Michele

heypaula
heypaula wrote on Jul 20, ’06
Congrats!! It sounds like the transition will go smoothly for you! You’ve definitely got to do what’s best for you; even though it’s going to make things tough for the folks left at your store. Enjoy the concert! It should be even more fun without the whole job stress thing hanging over you!
About xsfav14 - Chele

Married to Scott for 20 years. Have 3 kids between us - Jami, Kenny and Caitlin. Have 5 Grand children - will be 6 in about 4 months - Jade Elizabeth and Jacob Matthew both 13, Skyler Ryan - 5, Landon Joseph who will be 4 in September, and Kyla who is 10 months. We also have a dog named Madison. I mainly cross stitch as my hobby but I also read Paranormal Romance books!

Leave a Reply

Katie's Bright Kitchen

Recipes & Resources for Bright Line Eaters

Charlie, our Angel

Seeking a Medical Diagnosis

Embroiderbee's Primary Hive

Needlework & Other Obsessions

Claire93's Blog

my little corner in blogland

Joan Elliott

Design and Illustration

Cross Stitch Review

We try before you buy

Black Cat Stitches

My obsession with stitching

Nancy369's Blog

Just me and my stitchin'.......

Kincavel Krosses

Cross Stitch and Blackwork designs by Lady Kell of Kincavel

SweetEats Traditions

Traditional & Unique SweetEats!

Your Lighter Side

Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Gluten-Free, Sugar-Free, Low-Carb, Atkins, Diabetic, Ketogenic Healthy Eating

Gothtigger

Don't let The Best become the enemy of the Good.

A Project-A-Day

by Gothtigger

Great Stash Recession

Just another WordPress.com site

suzmademedoit

Just another WordPress.com site

Silentsgirls Swappables and Wishes

Things I Have and Things I Want

Sometimes Stitching

Not much these days, but sometimes I stitch

What A Stitch!!!

The thing that keeps me sane... cross stitch.

leoorbitenglish

In the end less mined

xstitcher43's Blog

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

The Wonder That is Me

Just another Blip in the Blogosphere

