RSS Feed

What is Clean Eating and a recipe – copied over from Multiply

What is Clean Eating and a recipe Jan 24, ’11 9:37 AM
for everyone
Mel had asked me what Clean Eating was when I mentioned it on one of her blogs so I thought I would just do a post about it. 

Clean Eating is basically eating only fresh foods or foods from their natural source.  It also involves eating every 2 to 3 hours.  I usually can do every 3.  For work, I keep it simple with just chicken breast, veggies, fruit and a Yoplait Light N Fit. I have the recipe to make my own clean yogurt but time being a issue I haven’t done that yet.  Scott’s work meal is a high protein Chicken, Brown Rice, Spinach and 2 kinds of beans mixture.  I cook a triple batch of that up every Sunday or Monday.

For my main meal at night, I make things like Cashew Butter Chicken Stew, Coconut/Macadamia-Crusted Chicken,  Turkey Cutlets Dijonnaise, Healthy Squash and Chicken Casserole, Stuffed Chicken and what I am making tonight, You Build It Lasagna.

You Build It Lasagna

2 1/2 quarts water
4 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
1 medium onion, peeled and chopped
3 gloves garlic, passed through a garlic press
3 ribs of celery, trimmed and chopped
2 carrots, peeled and chopped
2 cups of sliced mushrooms, use a mixture of button, shiitake and portabello
1 1/2 tablespoon low-sodium Tamari (gluten free if necessary)
Fresh ground black pepper
4 cups fresh spinach

Pasta:
1 pound dry lasagna noodles – look for nutrient dense pastas made from spinach, tomato, kamut, spelt, rice, or gluten-free varieties
2 cups tomato sauce
2 1/2 cups non fat cottage cheese
6 cups grated low or non-fat mozzarella cheese
1 1/2 cuts goat cheese

Calories: 408, Calories from Fat: 70, Protein 39g, Carbs: 43g, Dietary Fiber: 4g, Sugar: 6g, Fat: 7g, Sodium: 823mg

1. Preheat over to 375 degrees. In large skillet heat olive oil over medium heat.  Add onion, garlic, celery and carrot.  Cook 5 minutes until vegetables become soft.  Add mushrooms and saute for another few minutes.  Stir in tamari, pepper and spinach.  Let spinach wilt.

2.  In a large saucepan bring 2 1/2 quarts water to a rolling boil.  Pour a little olive oil into the water to prevent noodles from sticking.  Add lasagna noodles and cook al dente.  Drain noodles and run them under cold water.

3.  Spread 1/2 cup or more tomato sauce on the bottom of a lasagna pan that’s been coated with nonstick cooking spray.  Place a layer of lasagna noodles on top.  Spread 3/4 cup cottage cheese on top of the lasagna noodles along with 1 1/2 cuts grated mozzarella cheese, 1/2 cup goat cheese and one third of the spinach and vegetables mixture.  Repeat the layers until you run out of ingredients.  End with tomato sauce on top.

4.  Bake in hot over for 35 minutes.  Sprinkle more grated mozzarella cheese on top of lasagna and return to oven.  Let cook for another 5 miinutes.  Remove from heat and let sit for 20 minutes before cutting and serving.  Do not skip this step!  It is much easier to cut set lasagna.  Serve hot with a colorful green salad.

Forgot the copyright info!  Recipe came from The Eat-Clean Diet Cookbook by Tosca Reno.

dollery
dollery wrote on Jan 24, ’11
We’re pretty lucky over here in that a number of producers are getting involved in the organic-only movement. Free-range organic chicken (hormone free) & organic pork is readily available in the major supermarkets (unfortunately, at a premium price, but that’s changing too). The above looks yum…shame we can’t have the carbs on our diet (I wonder if I could find oat-bran pasta?)

xsfav14
xsfav14 wrote on Jan 24, ’11
They have veggie based spaghetti here now but alas no lasagna noodles yet. That is what I was looking for to make this even healthier. I had to settle for whole wheat pasta!

trishf2382
trishf2382 wrote on Jan 24, ’11
My goodness your meals sound delicious!! What time is dinner?

gothtigger
gothtigger wrote on Jan 25, ’11
I have/had a vegetable lasgne recipe that used strips of zucchini instead of the pasta. Worked well as a vegetarian (him) gluten-free (me) dish! Just a thought ….

You sound like you are enjoying life again Chele – this is such good news!

squeakandme
squeakandme wrote on Jan 28, ’11
My mom used to buy spaghetti squash, but I never see it in stores anymore. It was a great pasta alternative. For spaghetti type ‘noodles’ you baked the squash first, whole, but with a couple holes drilled or punched in it to vent so it would not explode in the oven, then once it cools, use a standard dinner fork, tines pointing into the flesh of the squash, to scrape it out of the rind. Instant noodles! For flat noodles, she had a blade type (not wire type) cheese slicer that she had my grandpa sharpen for her, that would slice off layers, much like a vegetable peeler does, but thicker, and she would layer them raw for lasagna or steam them in a double boiler to add to a sauce or something. She didn’t use that for very long, my brother outgrew his allergies, but I remember thinking it was quite tasty. And me eating squash at that age??? It must have been good. 🙂

gothtigger
gothtigger wrote on Jan 29, ’11
Oh God – I remember spaghetti squash – I loved that as a kid. DItto I can’t find it around here any more. I’ve been looking for it at farmer’s markets for years as it’s a really healthy tasty alternative to gluten-free pastas.
About xsfav14 - Chele

Married to Scott for 20 years. Have 3 kids between us - Jami, Kenny and Caitlin. Have 5 Grand children - will be 6 in about 4 months - Jade Elizabeth and Jacob Matthew both 13, Skyler Ryan - 5, Landon Joseph who will be 4 in September, and Kyla who is 10 months. We also have a dog named Madison. I mainly cross stitch as my hobby but I also read Paranormal Romance books!

Leave a Reply

Katie's Bright Kitchen

Recipes & Resources for Bright Line Eaters

Charlie, our Angel

Seeking a Medical Diagnosis

Embroiderbee's Primary Hive

Needlework & Other Obsessions

Claire93's Blog

my little corner in blogland

Joan Elliott

Design and Illustration

Cross Stitch Review

We try before you buy

Black Cat Stitches

My obsession with stitching

Nancy369's Blog

Just me and my stitchin'.......

Kincavel Krosses

Cross Stitch and Blackwork designs by Lady Kell of Kincavel

SweetEats Traditions

Traditional & Unique SweetEats!

Your Lighter Side

Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Gluten-Free, Sugar-Free, Low-Carb, Atkins, Diabetic, Ketogenic Healthy Eating

Gothtigger

Don't let The Best become the enemy of the Good.

A Project-A-Day

by Gothtigger

Great Stash Recession

Just another WordPress.com site

suzmademedoit

Just another WordPress.com site

Silentsgirls Swappables and Wishes

Things I Have and Things I Want

Sometimes Stitching

Not much these days, but sometimes I stitch

What A Stitch!!!

The thing that keeps me sane... cross stitch.

leoorbitenglish

In the end less mined

xstitcher43's Blog

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

The Wonder That is Me

Just another Blip in the Blogosphere

