RSS Feed

A Wonderful RAK! – copied from Multiply

A wonderful RAK! Aug 4, ’11 2:53 PM
for everyone
Hi received a lap frame from a wonderfully sweet and giving friend of mine.  Not sure she wants her name out there so I won’t – but she knows who she is. I had originally thought that I would put Told In A Garden Earth Dancer on it.  After thinking about it, ED is small enough to deal with on a Q-snap.  I decided that I would put my second really big ‘naughty’ piece on it instead.I spent last night sewing the fabric onto the 20 inch scroll rods.  Today I spent, I think 3 hours, gridding the fabric.  I only did enough to get page one done.  I didn’t do the gridding quite right but it will work for me.

Here are the pics!

The lap frame with the fabric sewed on and the gridding for the first page only done.

Grid of just enough squares to do the 1st page. There is one extra horizontal row but the way I did the grid, it worked
out that way.

This is the second ‘naughty’ pattern I found on Ebay I think.  So since I like this one best and Scott likes the other one best, now we have both going!

This is the first page.  The first 2 rows except for 4 stitches are all the same color.  Lots of 3799 – need 12 1/2 skeins.

The spool next to it is what I used to grid with.

This is the stuff I used to grid.  I got it at Stitches N Things.

The first 20 full stitches and 10 1/2 stitches.

I got the bug to move my stitching into the spare bedroom off the kitchen so I did that for a while.  More on that later.

ksteyskal
ksteyskal wrote on Aug 4, ’11
Oh Michele, what a lovely gift! And the design you are going to do on it is way beyond my skills! I can’t wait to see your beginning and then your progress, bit by bit.

mdgtjulie
mdgtjulie wrote on Aug 4, ’11
What a great RAK. That’s am American Dreams Lap Stand, right? I have one, and they’re lovely. Except I hardly ever use it any more because I can’t use it with my Q snaps, and I need my stitching to be mobile so I can take it over to mom’s every week. I’m so glad you got one and like it though. They’re really wonderful. Grats to you!! Can’t wait to watch you progress on this though!!

meme4002
meme4002 wrote on Aug 4, ’11
Chele, I love the design that you’ve decided to put on your RAK. Can’t wait to see your progress.!

xsfav14
xsfav14 wrote on Aug 4, ’11
I now have the first square of 100 stitches done. Then I worked across row 10 for the entire length of the page. The last 3 stitches of that row are 413. Then there is a single 413 stitch right above the 2nd of the three bottom stitches. So I stitched in a couple of stitches so I would know where the 4 different stitches went. From here on out, it is 717 more stitches of the 3799 to finish off just the top to rows of 10 X 10. I have honestly been thinking that I was gaining so much weight that my heart surgery scar was being pulled and stretched. It really hurts. I started having that sharp pain every time I moved my left arm to make a stitch underneath the frame. I only use my left hand to stitch and I am using that same muscle for hours at at time – over, under, pull up and pull down. So no more stitching for me for an hour or so until the hurt stops. I do have several smalls that I can pull out that won’t make me do the reach thing. I am so glad I figured out what was causing that pain!!!

meme4002
meme4002 wrote on Aug 4, ’11
Omg Chele,. please take it easy.. Stitching is supposed to be fun not hurtfull. Take your time, there is no rush.
xoxo

patchesmanyz
patchesmanyz wrote on Aug 5, ’11
what a wonderful gift! Take it easy.
About xsfav14 - Chele

Married to Scott for 20 years. Have 3 kids between us - Jami, Kenny and Caitlin. Have 5 Grand children - will be 6 in about 4 months - Jade Elizabeth and Jacob Matthew both 13, Skyler Ryan - 5, Landon Joseph who will be 4 in September, and Kyla who is 10 months. We also have a dog named Madison. I mainly cross stitch as my hobby but I also read Paranormal Romance books!

Leave a Reply

Katie's Bright Kitchen

Recipes & Resources for Bright Line Eaters

Charlie, our Angel

Seeking a Medical Diagnosis

Embroiderbee's Primary Hive

Needlework & Other Obsessions

Claire93's Blog

my little corner in blogland

Joan Elliott

Design and Illustration

Cross Stitch Review

We try before you buy

Black Cat Stitches

My obsession with stitching

Nancy369's Blog

Just me and my stitchin'.......

Kincavel Krosses

Cross Stitch and Blackwork designs by Lady Kell of Kincavel

SweetEats Traditions

Traditional & Unique SweetEats!

Your Lighter Side

Life, Liberty and the Pursuit of Gluten-Free, Sugar-Free, Low-Carb, Atkins, Diabetic, Ketogenic Healthy Eating

Gothtigger

Don't let The Best become the enemy of the Good.

A Project-A-Day

by Gothtigger

Great Stash Recession

Just another WordPress.com site

suzmademedoit

Just another WordPress.com site

Silentsgirls Swappables and Wishes

Things I Have and Things I Want

Sometimes Stitching

Not much these days, but sometimes I stitch

What A Stitch!!!

The thing that keeps me sane... cross stitch.

leoorbitenglish

In the end less mined

xstitcher43's Blog

4 out of 5 dentists recommend this WordPress.com site

The Wonder That is Me

Just another Blip in the Blogosphere

